Talisman

February 9, 2014 § 2 Comments

Opossum jaw bones.

I need marsupial jaw bones

threaded on a leather thong

to hang around my neck.

Mandibles,

each with its serrated edge of teeth

to clatter when I dance.

I need the power of the sentient world

around my neck

so I can hear it talking,

bone on bone

when I leap, and when

the earth’s pull brings me back again.

I have instead,

only the power

of my self-important mind.

A wick that throws a shabby light,

that gutters in any wind,

that smokes because

the fuel is poor.

I need the clamor of

the world’s great singing.

But close, close.

Like a thong of marsupial bones

tied around my neck.

Note: The modern mind is an isolated, self-referential place, where once it was open to the universal chorus that includes all that is, was, or will ever be. We have gained our individuality, and lost our oneness.

Why marsupial bones? Marsupials are an early effort at mammalian life, a last connection to orders long extinct. And the word sounds good when spoken out loud.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Talisman

  • craig reeder says:

    Such an incredibly vivid, tangible, audible image!!! this is a poem that grabs you by the throat and shakes you awake, then leaves you with a deep, deep insight into the human mind. WOW!

    Like

  • KM Huber says:

    Marsupial just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? Well, after it exercises the jaw a bit. Ever the eternal optimist, I believe we are recognizing that we are all connected and that our individuality is our contribution to our oneness. I do agree that for quite some time we have ignored that very connection.
    Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Talisman at Slow Dance Journal Blog.

meta

